AHTA Annual Awards

Learn More About the Charles A. Lewis Award

  • AHTA Therapeutic Garden Design Award
  • Ann Lane Mavromatis Scholarship
  • Alice Burlingame Humanitarian Service Award
  • John Walker Community Service Award
  • Rhea McCandliss Professional Service Award

Please review the award criteria and submission instructions prior to beginning the nomination form. 

Award Nomination Submission     Award Self Nomination Submission

Recognizing excellence in horticultural therapy

To further our mission to promote and advance the practice of horticultural therapy, AHTA sponsors an annual awards program to recognize the contributions of individuals and organizations whose personal initiative and achievement define outstanding performance in the field.

AHTA awards and honors excellence in six areas:

  • Research
  • Humanitarian service
  • Horticultural therapy program services delivered in a community setting
  • Professional service
  • Therapeutic garden design, and
  • Academic achievement.

The AHTA Awards are presented at the AHTA Annual Conference held each fall. It is not necessary to be a member of AHTA to submit a nomination. Please note when nominating, an AHTA member may not be awarded the same award more than once. A member may be awarded a different award in consecutive years. Please read the awards criteria and complete the online nomination application when it becomes available.

Charles A. Lewis Excellence in Research Award 
To honor Charles A. Lewis, a pioneer in the field of people-plant interaction and innovative horticultural programs throughout the community.  Given to recognize research scientists who have published outstanding horticultural therapy research in a horticultural or medical journal. This award is to provide an incentive to contribute evidence-based research that demonstrates the effectiveness of horticultural therapy and to increase the awareness of research-based findings supporting the health benefits offered through horticulture. Learn more and submit your nomination

2022 Charles A. Lewis Excellence in Research Award Recipients: Anne M. Meore, Sun Shengnan, Lauren Byma, Sharon Alter, Amanda Vitale, Evan Podalk, Brooke Gibbard, Toby Adams, James Boyer, Hanga Galfalvy, Rachel Yehuda, Ann Feder, Fatemeh Haghighi

AHTA Therapeutic Garden Design Awards
Awarded for the purpose of identifying and publicizing excellence in therapeutic design and programming to existing gardens and landscapes designed and maintained for therapeutic purposes. The document AHTA Therapeutic Garden Characteristics provides the basis for this award. Review the Awards Criteria prior to submitting the online form. 

2022 AHTA Therapeutic Garden Design Award: Gardens of the Monarch School of New England

Ann Lane Mavromatis Scholarship
This $1000 scholarship is awarded annually to a student member of AHTA in recognition of academic achievement and to promote the growth of professionalism in the field of horticultural therapy. The scholarship recipient’s registration fees for the annual meeting will be waived by the AHTA and she/he will be granted two nights lodging for the annual meeting. Review the Awards Criteria prior to submitting the online form. 

2022 Ann Lane Mavromatis Scholarship Recipient: Morgan Whitaker Smith LMHC

Alice Burlingame Humanitarian Service Award
Awarded to an organization or individual who has given freely of their time, talent, and energy with special significance for horticultural therapy on a local, state or national level. Outstanding voluntary contribution to an organization or program need not necessarily be made in the year in which the nomination is made. Review the Awards Criteria prior to submitting the online form. 

2022 Alice Burlingame Humanitarian Service Award: Florida Horticulture for Health Network

John Walker Community Service Award
Awarded in recognition of significant contribution to horticultural therapy in the area of program services provided to a community. Programs to be recognized shall be distinguished by their leadership in the field, innovative service delivery, and effective public relations. Review the Awards Criteria prior to submitting the online form. 

2022 John Walker Community Service Award Recipient: Anne M. Meore, LMSW, HTR

Rhea McCandliss Professional Service Award
Awarded to a registered member (HTM, HTR, or HTA) of the AHTA in recognition of significant contribution to the field of horticultural therapy characterized by distinctive service in the promotion, organization, and development of horticultural therapy programs or for an original or unusual contribution affecting the philosophy or practice of horticultural therapy. Review the Awards Criteria prior to submitting the online form.  

2022 Rhea McCandliss Professional Service Award Recipient: Leigh Anne Starling HTR

Submission Instructions

Once nominations are open you will be able to access either the self-nomination online form or the online form to nominate others.
If self nominating please only select the award you are best qualified for.
Please note that the online form cannot save data; you will need to be prepared to answer all questions and submit necessary documentation in one sitting. It is recommended that you first review the award criteria to ensure you have the necessary documentation for the appropriate award.
If you would like to submit for more than one award it is recommended that you submit a new application for each award.

If you have any questions about the submission process, please contact the AHTA office.